Skip to content

The Beginning of an End

12 November 2009

It’s been some time since I’ve written. I’m in the middle of some pretty large life changes. I’m in the middle of divorce proceedings. On top of that, I’m changing jobs.

My employer had been an independent software shop. It was bought by a big financial giant right before I was hired on. Recently, a lot of the old guard management left, leaving the big giant management to fill the void. There has been a large culture shift for our little agile company doing distributed systems work going into a mainframe, brick and mortar style world.

My last project as an employee for them is to produce an internal presentation on PCI compliance and the OWASP Top 10 vulnerabilities and how they apply to our application. There is a wealth of information on security vulnerabilities, that’s for certain! While researching the presentation, I was surprised to learn about the number and quality of the tools that exist for probing applications.

Monday, I’m dipping my toes into the consulting waters for the first time. I’ve taken a gig with a consulting firm I’ve worked with before. I’ll be filling a position at a large network bandwidth provider, writing software to integrate their systems. In theory, it’s a step up, though it can be hard to tell with the different styles of compensation. I’m looking forward to reporting about it in future posts.

What’s up in your world?

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

