Skip to content

Review: Porco Rosso (and 100th Post)

30 July 2009

In a previous review of Miyazaki films, I mentioned I hadn’t caught a couple.

Last week, Netflix delivered Porco Rosso. I enjoyed it a lot! The kids did too.

What impressed me most about Porco Rosso wasn’t the plot or the telling of the story, both of which were very familiar after having watched the others. Mr. Piccolo, whose family helped repair Porco’s plane, reminded me strongly of the Boiler Man from Spirited Away, for example.

As I watched the film, I kept thinking how it would make a wonderful backdrop for a Spirit of the Century campaign! The setting reminds me of the Xbox game Crimson Skies, a nation of islands connected by plane and zepplin. The characters are pure pulp. Porco would make an excellent Centurion, a Superb pilot. Gina, the restaurant owner with Support Rapport and Great Contacting. And so on.


In a side note, this is my 100th post. The blog has been a pleasure. It always amazes me to see what posts people are drawn to.

Some posts of note have been:

As you can see, my readers are a diverse bunch. Part of me want to focus the blog on a particular subject, but no one subject dominates my readership.

Any requests? What would you like to see in the next 100 posts?

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

