Skip to content

SotC: Curse of Kusim-Ra, Part 1

1 February 2009

Captain Who

Played by my daughter

Aspects: Very British, Red Hair, Mysterious, Sneaky Like A Ninja, Ship: The Black Beauty

Skills: Superb Leadership, Great Rapport, Great Pilot (Boat)

The Navigator

Played by my youngest son

Aspects: “Camo” Hair, Quick as a Tiger, Mystic Kung-Fu Powers

Skills: Superb Search, Great Fists, Great Mysteries, Good Athletics

Draco Wolf

Played by my older son

Aspects: Agile as a Tiger, Shapeshifter (Mystic Wolf, triggered by intense anger)

Superb Weapons, Great Guns, Great Athletics

So, the kids and I played a little pick-up Spirit of the Century tonight. I always use the quick generation rules with the kids and play stuntless. We use lots of aspects and compels. I gave each of them two fate points.

Our story begins as the players are chasing a boat through the Arabian Sea. On board is a priceless artifact, the Book of Kusim-Ra. (Kusim is “music” spelled backward, after swapping vowels because I thought “kiss ’em, Ra” would be too distracting.)

It was very stormy and night, but my youngest son invoked his “Mystic Kung-Fu Powers” to dispel the storm. I allowed it for a fate point. As the storm cleared, the enemy ship spotted them.

Captain Who closed in, after getting her men to put in extraordinary effort for their beloved captain. Draco fired a few cannonballs at the ship (my kids love Pirates of the Caribbean, so I didn’t dissuade that anachronism too much). The enemy ship began evasive maneuvers, which slowing their escape down.
(Through the exchange, the kids had a lot of trouble with the ships having diesel engines and not sails. In retrospect, I should have just gone with it, too.)

The players began to seem uncertain, so I brought forth a “ticking clock”. I mentioned that the ship was getting into India’s waters, and if they continued to fire, it might cause an incident. Captain Who spent a fate point to say she was well-known in India and had been there recently. We talked, and she quickly radioed the Indian Coast Guard and offered a selection of fine Asian cinnamon in exchange for their help. The Coast Guard came a running, and the ship veered back into international waters.

Again, they stalled, so I had the Navigator make a roll. He spotted a sea plane heading in, sporting the insignia of Ravi “The Tiger” Bengali. (My daughter said, “Of course he has a nickname, with a silly name like that.”)

The sea plane landed and they saw some activity. Draco aimed one of the final cannonballs at the ship, but missed. I ruled that it landed between the sea plane and the ship, causing a woman to drop the book! People dived into the water after it.

The Navigator used his rifle, thus far to no avail, but finally managed to take out the gunner and allow the Black Beauty to come alongside. Draco jumped into the water after the book, encased in some sort of protective sleeve. It was sinking too fast for the others to get it. He tried, rolled well, and he got his hands on the book.

So, I slyly offered him a choice, compelling the Arabian Sea scene aspect. I offered Draco a fate point to drop the sinking book and return safely to the surface. Or, he could pay a fate point, keep the book, but need rescuing. My son thought about it for a bit, and decided to drop the book.

Turns out, Draco was picked up by Annalise Gitoux, the infamous French archeologist, and her sailor minions. I told him they’d crossed paths before. They took him hostage aboard the sea plane and headed out towards land. Captain Who and the Navigator were unable to stop her.

When Draco recovered from his swim, Gitoux said, “Don’t worry, Mr. Wolf, our submarine will recover the book.” My son gasped very satisfactorily.

Unaware of the exchange, the Navigator used his mystic kung-fu powers (and late fate point) to surmise that the book was “safe”, but he didn’t get the impression where.

It was about bedtime, so we ended it there, despite their protestations. It took about an hour to create characters and play this initial scene.

Afterward, my daughter told me that she thought that maybe there was an Indian princess with red hair she could impersonate. And maybe there is. 😉

Leave a Reply

